Published on January 31, 2019 12:46 am

The 2018 NAB AFL Women's Draft first-round picks

AFLW 2019 set to begin

Twenty TAC Cup Girls players who joined AFL Women’s lists at the 2018 NAB AFL Women’s Draft are setting themselves to make an impact in the upcoming 2019 AFLW season.

The third edition of the national women’s league kicks off under lights at GMHBA Stadium on Saturday, when Collingwood travels down the highway to face competition entrant Geelong.



The AFLW Cats added seven TAC Cup Girls players to their inaugural list last year – including top-10 AFLW Draft picks Nina Morrison (pick no.1 from Geelong Falcons), Sophie Van De Heuvel (no.2 from GWV Rebels) and Rebecca Webster (no.7 from Murray Bushrangers) – while fellow 2019 entrant North Melbourne selected Oakleigh Chargers forward Daisy Bateman later in the draft.

Carlton’s Madison Prespakis (pick no.3 from Calder Cannons), Collingwood’s Jordyn Allen (no.5 from Dandenong Stingrays), Melbourne’s Tyla Hanks (no.6 from Gippsland Power) and Western Bulldogs’ Eleanor Brown (no.10 from Sandringham Dragons) were other TAC Cup Girls players taken in the first 10 picks.

The 2018 AFLW Draft crop joins 11 other TAC Cup Girls players who were added to AFLW lists in 2017, with Western Bulldogs premiership player Monique Conti (ex-Calder Cannons) among those Victorian youngsters to make an impact at the elite level last year.

* A total of 31 players who were recruited from TAC Cup Girls clubs are on AFLW lists for the 2019 season. See the full list below.

The 10-team AFLW season runs over seven rounds, with a two-week finals series concluding on March 30 or 31 – click HERE for the full fixture.


Former TAC Cup Girls players on 2019 AFLW lists:

CARLTON (6) Madison Prespakis Calder Cannons
Georgia Gee Dandenong Stingrays
Bridie Kennedy Dandenong Stingrays
Charlotte Wilson Eastern Ranges
Emerson Woods Eastern Ranges
Abbie McKay Sandringham Dragons
COLLINGWOOD (9) Sarah Dargan Calder Cannons
Jordyn Allen Dandenong Stingrays
Mikala Cann Eastern Ranges
Darcy Guttridge Gippsland Power
Holly Whitford Gippsland Power
Lauren Butler GWV Rebels
Iilish Ross Murray Bushrangers
Katie Lynch Oakleigh Chargers
* INACTIVE LIST: Chloe Molloy Calder Cannons
GEELONG (7) Nina Morrison Geelong Falcons
Olivia Purcell Geelong Falcons
Denby Taylor Geelong Falcons
Rene Caris GWV Rebels
Georgia Clarke GWV Rebels
Sophie Van De Heuvel GWV Rebels
Rebecca Webster Murray Bushrangers
MELBOURNE (5) Eden Zanker Bendigo Pioneers
Shelley Heath Dandenong Stingrays
Tyla Hanks Gippsland Power
Madeline Brancatisano Northern Knights
Madeleine Guerin Northern Knights
NORTH MELBOURNE (1) Daisy Bateman Oakleigh Chargers
WESTERN BULLDOGS (3) Monique Conti Calder Cannons
Eleanor Brown Sandringham Dragons
Isabel Huntington Sandringham Dragons

Naming Rights