Published on May 15, 2019 3:54 pm

AFLW U18 Country and Metro squads

The Vic Country and Vic Metro squads for the upcoming 2019 NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 Championships have been announced, with 59 NAB League Girls players in line to potentially represent their state.

This year’s Under-18 Championships begin for Country and Metro on Saturday June 22 at Avalon Airport Oval (starting at 2pm). They will then travel to the Gold Coast for three more games from July 8-12 against Queensland, Western Australia and the Eastern Allies (NSW/Tasmania).


* See the full Vic Country and Vic Metro squads for the 2019 NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 Championships further down the page.


Vic Country will this year be coached by AFLW premiership player and current Geelong Cats ruck Aasta O’Connor, with 323-game former St Kilda AFL champion Nathan Burke taking the reins of Vic Metro.

The initial 30-player Metro squad contains several 2019 NAB AFL Women’s Draft prospects such as Gabrielle Newton (Northern Knights), Georgia Patrikios (Calder Cannons), Isabella Grant (Western Jets), Britney Gutknecht (Northern Knights) and Laura McClelland (Eastern Ranges).

The initial 29-member Country squad also features a range of highly-rated prospects like Lucy McEvoy (Geelong Falcons), Millie Brown (Murray Bushrangers) and Sophie Molan (GWV Rebels), as well as pre-listed St Kilda AFLW players Molly McDonald and Isabella Shannon (both Dandenong Stingrays).



Last year’s Country and Metro squads contained several players subsequently selected towards the top of the 2018 NAB AFL Women’s Draft, including joint Championships MVPs Nina Morrison (Geelong Falcons to Geelong AFLW) and Madison Prespakis (Calder Cannons to Carlton), as well as AFLW Under-18 All Australians Sophie Van De Heuvel (GWV Rebels to Geelong AFLW), Jordyn Allen (Dandenong Stingrays to Collingwood) and Eleanor Brown (Sandringham Dragons to Western Bulldogs).

State Talent Manager Paul Hamilton said the Championships gave Victoria’s best emerging female footballers the chance to highlight their skills on a big stage.

“The NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 Championships have the potential to put our up-and-coming female players firmly on the radar of AFL Women’s clubs,” Hamilton said.

“Our Vic Country and Vic Metro girls will have access to some of the best coaching resources in women’s football in order to develop their games and will be able to experience playing at elite-level venues against the best talent the rest of Australia has to offer.

“Travelling to the Gold Coast in July will also provide them an extra opportunity to bond with girls who share a common goal of furthering their careers within the elite talent pathway.”

The Country vs Metro under-18 match on June 22 will be part of a double-header along with an under-16 Country vs Metro clash (commencing at 12pm), with the initial squads for those teams to be announced next week.



1 Elise Vella 05-Sep-01 156 Geelong Falcons
2 Teagan Brett 08-Feb-01 157 Murray Bushrangers
3 Paige Sheppard 23-Apr-01 158 Geelong Falcons
4 Renee Saulitis 14-Aug-02 163 GWV Rebels
5 Luka Lesosky-Hay 07-Jan-01 164 Geelong Falcons
6 Laura Gardiner 21-Nov-02 164 Geelong Falcons
7 Ella Wood 14-Feb-01 164 GWV Rebels
8 Elizabeth Snell 14-Mar-02 165 Bendigo Pioneers
9 Darcy Moloney 20-Nov-02 165 Geelong Falcons
10 Sophie Locke 24-Apr-01 166 Murray Bushrangers
11 Brooke Hards 19-Jul-02 166 Bendigo Pioneers
12 Tyanna Smith 29-Oct-02 167 Dandenong Stingrays
13 Molly McDonald 04-May-01 168 Dandenong Stingrays
14 Abbey Chapman 15-Apr-01 170 Geelong Falcons
15 Nikia Webber 29-Aug-01 170 Gippsland Power
16 Renee Tierney 23-May-02 168 Geelong Falcons
17 Mia Skinner 30-Jan-01 170 Geelong Falcons
18 Kate Douglass 19-Jul-01 171 Bendigo Pioneers
19 Brooke Vernon 20-Oct-01 172 Dandenong Stingrays
20 Zoe Hill 13-May-02 173 Dandenong Stingrays
21 Sophie Molan 24-Mar-01 175 GWV Rebels
22 Millie Brown 15-Jan-01 175 Murray Bushrangers
23 Lucy McEvoy 13-May-01 172 Geelong Falcons
24 Isabella Simmons 19-Apr-02 181 GWV Rebels
25 Olivia Barber 14-Jul-02 184 Murray Bushrangers
26 Isabella Shannon 30-Jun-01 178 Dandenong Stingrays
27 Shanara Notman 27-Jul-01 178 Gippsland Power
28 Georgia Howes 26-Jul-00 183 Dandenong Stingrays
29 Maggie Caris 21-Dec-02 188 GWV Rebels
30 Daisy Smith 13-Dec-01 166 Geelong Falcons



2 Felicity Theodore 14-Mar-01 157 Calder Cannons
3 Gemma Lagioia 03-May-01 160 Oakleigh Chargers
4 Nicola Xenos 08-Mar-01 160 Oakleigh Chargers
5 Elisabeth Georgostathis 17-Oct-01 161 Western Jets
6 Madeleine Edwards 19-Jan-01 164 Eastern Ranges
7 Amelia Van Oosterwijck 08-Nov-01 163 Oakleigh Chargers
8 Mimi Hill 04-Oct-02 165 Oakleigh Chargers
9 Bella Eddey 11-Feb-02 162 Sandringham Dragons
10 Alana Barba 26-Sep-01 161 Calder Cannons
12 Alice Burke 03-Oct-02 166 Sandringham Dragons
13 Britney Gutknecht 20-Apr-01 168 Northern Knights
14 Laura McClelland 03-Jul-01 172 Eastern Ranges
15 Alyssa Bannan 13-Apr-02 178 Northern Knights
16 Emily Harley 04-Dec-01 172 Oakleigh Chargers
17 Georgia Patrikios 30-Mar-01 168 Calder Cannons
18 Emma Horne 29-Nov-01 171 Eastern Ranges
19 Marguerite Purcell 27-Jul-01 170 Sandringham Dragons
20 Sarah Sansonetti 02-Aug-01 172 Northern Knights
21 Ellie McKenzie 17-Oct-02 176 Northern Knights
22 Sarah Hartwig 12-Apr-02 174 Sandringham Dragons
23 Nell Morris-Dalton 05-Apr-01 176 Northern Knights
24 Isabella Grant 21-Sep-01 175 Western Jets
25 Tahlia Merrett 08-Jan-01 176 Eastern Ranges
26 Gabrielle Newton 31-Aug-01 175 Northern Knights
27 Molly Denahy Maloney 25-Feb-01 177 Sandringham Dragons
28 Isabelle Pritchard 08-Mar-02 178 Western Jets
29 Cleo Saxon-Jones 04-Nov-01 182 Western Jets
30 Amelia Peck 13-Jan-00 182 Oakleigh Chargers
34 Jessica Fitzgerald 08-Mar-02 163 Northern Knights

Naming Rights