Published on September 2, 2018 10:01 pm

Nina Morrison (left - photo by Brian Bartlett) and Madison Prespakis (right)

Morrison, Prespakis tie for B&F

Nina Morrison (Geelong Falcons) and Madison Prespakis (Calder Cannons) added to stellar seasons by being named joint-winners of the TAC Cup Girls Best & Fairest award on Sunday night.

The 17-year-olds – both AFL Women’s Draft-eligible in 2018 – were also joint-winners of this year’s NAB AFL Women’s U18 Championships MVP award following outstanding campaigns on the national stage in June and July.

They each polled 16 votes in the Best & Fairest count to finish one vote ahead of Tyla Hanks (Gippsland Power), with both Madeline Brancatisano (Northern Knights) and Lucy Cripps (Dandenong Stingrays) a further five votes back.

WATCH a full replay of the best and fairest night HERE

167cm Morrison played nine of 10 games in Geelong’s TAC Cup Girls premiership-winning season earlier in 2018 and has since graduated to make two Swisse Wellness VFL Women’s appearances for the Geelong Cats as well as representing Vic Country at the U18 Championships.

Morrison was awarded three votes in four games and two votes in a further two matches, missing only Round 8 of the nine-round home-and-away season. She polled 11 of a possible 12 votes in the first four rounds and had posted all 16 of her votes with two rounds to play.

158cm Prespakis was four votes behind Morrison at that stage but polled one vote in Round 8 and then three votes in Round 9 to tie for the honour. She also received maximum votes in four games while polling two votes once and one vote twice, missing one match in Round 5.

Prespakis has since played six VFL Women’s games for Melbourne Uni and represented Vic Metro at the U18 Championships. She joins Chloe Molloy as Calder Cannons players to have won the Best & Fairest award after Molloy tied with Bridie Kennedy (Dandenong Stingrays) for the honour following last year’s inaugural TAC Cup Girls season.


CLICK HERE for the Team of the Year

CLICK HERE for full votes



Nina Morrison Geelong Falcons 16
Madison Prespakis Calder Cannons 16
Tyla Hanks Gippsland Power 15
Lucy Cripps Dandenong Stingrays 10
Madeline Brancatisano Northern Knights 10
Eleanor Brown Sandringham Dragons 8
Chelsea Knight Murray Bushrangers 8
Lucy McEvoy Geelong Falcons 8
Olivia Purcell Geelong Falcons 8
Gemma Lagioia Oakleigh Chargers 7
Rebecca Webster Murray Bushrangers 7
Jordyn Allen Dandenong Stingrays 7
Isabella Shannon Dandenong Stingrays 7
Megan Williamson Bendigo Pioneers 7
Jemma Owen Sandringham Dragons 7
Emily Harley Oakleigh Chargers 7


Naming Rights