Published on July 13, 2018 6:56 pm

Rd 4 AFL W U18 results: Strong finish by Vics

The two Victorian teams finished the week as they started, with two good wins on the final day of the NAB AFL U18 Championships on the Gold Coast.

Both teams led from start to finish, with Metro returning to the winners list with a 45-point win over Central Allies, and Country won its third game in a row, defeating WA by 37 points.

After the game, the individual MVPs from the umpires were decided, with Nina Morrison winning the Vic Country award, and Maddy Prespakis taking away the Vic Metro title. Both players also won their respective regions Eva Peers Medal – the B&F for the Championships for Country and Metro.

Both Morrison and Prespakis then created history being the first ever joint MVP winners of the AFL W Championships.

The pair headlined 24 of 48 All-Australian squad members from the Victorian teams, with those selected to play in a curtain raiser to the annual EJ Whitten Legends match on Friday August 31 in Adelaide, where the final All Australian side will be chosen.

Full list is here, with Round 4 AFL W results below.

Jordyn Allen Dandenong Stingrays
Courtney Jones Dandenong Stingrays
Lucinda Cripps Dandenong Stingrays
Lucy McEvoy Geelong Falcons
Denby Taylor Geelong Falcons
Nina Morrison Geelong Falcons
Olivia Purcell Geelong Falcons
Tyla Hanks Gippsland Power
Rene Caris Greater Western Victoria Rebels
Georgia Clarke Greater Western Victoria Rebels
Sophie Van De Huevel Greater Western Victoria Rebels
Bec Webster Murray Bushrangers
Georgia Patrikios Calder Cannons
Maddy Prespakis Calder Cannons
Emmerson Woods Eastern Ranges
Georgia McPherson Eastern Ranges
Mikayla Cann Eastern Ranges
Gabbi Newton Northern Knights
Daisy Bateman Oakleigh Chargers
Katie Lynch Oakleigh Chargers
Hannah McLaren Oakleigh Chargers
Eleanor Brown Sandringham Dragons
Abbie McKay Sandringham Dragons
Isabella Grant Western Jets


VIC METRO           3.1    5.2   9.5   10.6 (66)
CENTRAL ALLIES   1.0     1.1     1.2       3.3 (21)

Vic Metro: Bateman (Oakleigh Chargers) 2, Newton (Northern Knights) 2, Gutknecht (Northern Knights) 2, Bate, Saxon-Jones (Western Jets), Patrikios (Calder Cannons), Prespakis (Calder Cannons) 1
Vic Metro: Prespakis (Calder Cannons), Lynch (Oakleigh Chargers), Grant (Western Jets), Brown (Sandringham Dragons), Kendall (Eastern Ranges), Patrikios

VIC COUNTRY                     2.1   2.7   4.9   7.12 (54)
WESTERN AUSTRALIA         0.3   1.3     2.4      2.5 (17)

Vic Country: Van De Huevel (GWV Rebels) 3, Webber (Gippsland Power), Morrison (Geelong Falcons), Jones (Dandenong Stingrays), McEvoy (Geelong Falcons) 1
Vic Country: Van De Huevel, Webster, Morrison, Heath (Dandenong Stingrays), Clarke (GWV Rebels)

Naming Rights